CM Facebook



hh rods v1




rod sox logoweb

timmy tom web

foxy fishing gear


Larry and Steve Durden Win the Florida State Championship

The 2016 Florida State Championship was held this weekend in Deland, FL on the St. Johns River, where 35 teams from 12 different states came to compete for over $13,000.00 in cash and prizes. The weather played a major role as teams were forced to make adjustments in their game plans due to high winds and cold temperatures.

Larry and Steve Durden took home the 2016 Florida State Championship by weighing in an impressive two-day total weight of 24.91 pounds. The team was one pole fishing in and around the willow pads with a straight hook and minnow rig in 4 to 5 foot of water and catching their fish 2.5 to 3 foot deep. The Durdens fished from a Tracker boat with a Mercury motor and Minn Kota trolling motor. They took home a check for $4700.00, which included a $500.00 bonus donated by the Missouri Corn Growers Association and American Ethanol for using E10 gasoline in their boat.

Tommy Skarlis and Kyle Steinfeldt, sponsored by Navionics, Off Shore Tackle, Power Pole, Ranger, Evinrude, Ray Marine, Do It Molds, Grizzly Coolers, Berkley, Optima Batteries, and St. Croix, weighed in a two day weight of 23.73 pounds for a second place finish. The 2013 National Champions were pulling Off Shore Tackle OR-12 planer boards with Tattle Flags along with Off Shore Tadpoles and their own hand tied jigs at 1 mph in 5 foot of water with their baits at 1-2 foot deep. The team received a check for $2100.00.

Third place went to the Johnson Fishing team of Billy and Scott Williams with 23.48 pounds. The Williams' were long line trolling and spider rigging minnows on Tru Turn gold hooks in 5-6 foot of water and catching their fish around 2 foot deep. The 2015 Angler Team of the Year took home $1400.00 and are sponsored by Johnson Fishing, BnM Poles, Driftmaster, K2 Coolers, Humminbird, and Minn Kota.

Big Fish of the tournament was weighed in on day 1 by Trenton Lambert with a monster 3.21 pound crappie. This fish was good for a $490.00 check.

Top Male/Female team went to Vic Finkley and Kim Gray with a two day weight of 20.49 pounds. They won a Navionics chip and a $100.00 Bass Pro Shops gift card.

Top Adult/Youth team with 11.74 pounds was Scott Broxton and Scott Broxton Jr.  They won a new Minn Kota trolling motor and a $100.00 Everharts Sporting Goods gift card.

To download full tournament results click HERE.

Special thanks to local sponsors that include: West Volusia Tourism Advertising Authority, Hontoon Landing Resort & Marina, Hampton Inn, Highland Park Fish Camp, Shady Oak Bait & Tackle, Shady Oak Restaurant & Tavern, and Southern Tackleworks.

Special thanks to our National Sponsors that include: Bass Pro Shops, Tracker Boats, Nitro Boats, Minn Kota, Humminbird, Mercury Motors, Missouri Corn Growers Association, American Ethanol, Missouri Soybean Merchandising Council, Ozark Rods, Johnson Fishing, Road Runner by Blakemore, Power-Pole, Tite-lok Rod Holders, Bobby Garland Crappie Baits, Rockport Rattler, Midsouth Tackle, Grizzly Jig Company, Spike-It, Stren, Lake Fork Trophy Lures, The Original Rod Sox, B’n’M Poles, Slider, Crappie Now, Bug Band, Gary Yamamoto Custom Baits, KeepAlive, Crappieholic, Valley Fashions, Ziptailz, Off Shore Tackle, Millennium Marine, Navionics, Southern Tackleworks, Everharts Outdoor Store, Silent Stalker, Rod Safe, Gator Guards, Skinzit, Crazy Angler, Stump Jumper Series, Rig Rap, American Angler, Marine Metal Products, Fish-D-Funk, Monster Crappie Media and Huffman Publishing, and KMMO Brad & Brian in the Outdoors.  

Next on the Crappie Masters All American Tournament Trail will be a National Qualifier and Louisiana State Championship February 26, 27, 2016 on Lake D’Arbonne, Farmerville, LA.